You and me, Left and Right, Good Guys and Bad Guys.

Posted: November 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

The Australian Independent Media Network

In my twenties, after a relationship break-up, I told a friend that I was consoling myself with my theory that there were only fourteen people in the story of your life and all the rest were extras who didn’t matter.

“You can’t say that,” she told me.

“Why not?” I asked.

“Well, everybody has feelings?”

“How do you know? How do you know that you aren’t the only person with feelings and all the rest aren’t robots just sent to test you?”

“You’re just being silly now.”

And I was.

But I also knew that I was right. Of course, I believe that everyone else has feelings, but it’s only my own that I’m truly in touch with. It’s only me and my sense of self that’s truly real to me. I infer from this that other people are similar and that we all have some empathy for other people…

View original post 681 more words

Leave a Reply

