You have a right to your opinion, but that doesn’t mean that your opinion is right!

Posted: December 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

The Australian Independent Media Network

Image

As an English teacher, I had the pleasure of reading many persuasive essays and listening to many oral presentations. Kids would present their point of view on a topic.

Now, I do understand that we live in a democracy and that everybody is allowed to have an opinion and all that, but somehow this has become terribly blurred in people’s minds. Just having the right to an opinion, doesn’t automatically mean that nobody has the right to argue with you.

I remember a dialogue that went something like this:

Me – You need to look at the other side of the argument.

Boris – Why? I already know my opinion.

Me – Well, there’s two reasons: First, so you can argue against it, and secondly, you might change your mind when you’ve examined all the facts.

Boris – No I won’t. I know what I think.

Me – Yes, but…

View original post 930 more words

Leave a Reply

